Over the years, many students have asked about Concealed Carry Insurance. We recommend US Law Shield. The price is $10.95 per month. We have a representative from the company speak at most of our Concealed Carry Classes. If you pay annually you receive 2 months free. Please use our promo code FTCIL1 for special discounts.
Firearms Training Chicago Blog
On Sunday, we completed Range Qualification at Chuck's Gun Shop in Riverdale.
Many of the students that were in attendance were at the Range to complete their 3 hour Renewal Course. One of the students had the same bullets that he purchased at Chuck's Gun Shop 5 years ago, which means he has never been to a range since his initial Concealed Carry class 5 years ago.
When you are involved in a deadly force incident, you revert back to your level of training. It is imperative that you practice your skills at a Range as well as dry fire at home.
We continue to offer classes every week. We have a special for the month of November. $100 for the 16 hour class, plus ammo and range fees. That is $50.00 in savings. Call for details.
Many people make the mistake of thinking that once they receive their Concealed Carry license they are fully trained. Many of our past students are returning for their renewal class. It is great to see what a difference carrying a firearm for 5 years has meant to them. However, many of our past students have not been to a range since they attended our training over 5 years ago.
When you are involved in a deadly force incident you revert back to your level of training. You must make it a priority to go to the range and practice. We offer private lessons at very reasonable rates.
We also give our students an opportunity to attend a refresher course at no additional fee. Yes that is free.
If your Illinois Concealed carry license was revoked because you let your FOID card expired do not file an appeal with the Illinois State Police. You need to renew your FOID card and then complete and send in a Request for Concealed Carry License Review form. The form should be included in the notice that you received from the Illinois State Police regarding your CCL being revoked. It's best to mail this form to the Firearms Services Bureau where someone has to sign for it.
Stay safe, We continue to offer classes every week!!
Just a reminder that Illinois Concealed carry licenses need to be renewed every 5 years. In order to renew your license, you need to attend a 3 hour class.
If your Illinois Concealed carry license expires it remains valid as long as you attended the 3 hour renewal class and applied for your Renewal license with the Illinois State Police , prior to expiration. We offer renewal classes every week. Don't forget to check the expiration on your FOID card, if your FOID card expires, your Illinois Concealed carry license will be revoked.
Any questions, please feel free to call us at 708-212-3067.
Stay Safe, Happy Fathers Day to all!!
We will be hosting a Gun Law Seminar on May 23rd at the Elks Lodge, 10720 S. Central, Chicago Ridge. Included will be a Q & A session with a Criminal Defense attorney along with a presentation from US Law Shield. The seminar will start at 6:30 pm.
Call 708-212-3067 for more details.
It is very important that you check the expiration of your FOID card. If your FOID card expires, your Illinois Concealed carry license will be revoked. You will enjoy carrying a firearm on a daily basis. If you FOID expires, then your Concealed carry license will be revoked by the Illinois State Police. The process to get your Illinois Concealed carry license back could take 4 months or up to one year.
We continue to offer Illinois Concealed carry classes as well as Renewal Classes on a weekly basis.
We continue to offer classes on a weekly basis at our location in Chicago Ridge, Illinois. Many people are taking advantage of having a private group training class at their home or workplace. With private home Concealed Carry training, an instructor will come to your home or workplace and provide a private Concealed Carry class. This is also a great option for people that are looking to renew their Illinois Concealed carry license. The Illinois Concealed carry renewal class consists of 3 hours of training, including range qualification. For Private Class pricing please give us a call at 708-212-3067.
Our first Illinois Concealed carry class was in October 2013.
Illinois Concealed carry licenses must be renewed every 5 years. The Illinois State Police require a 3 hour renewal class. The renewal class requires Range qualification. Our renewal class has been approved by the Illinois State Police. License holders should take an Illinois Concealed carry 3 hour renewal class 6 months prior to their license expiring (To avoid the rush). Our renewal class will be offered starting in July. We have Illinois Concealed carry renewal classes scheduled for November 29, December 1,6,8,13,16 & 27. We continue to offer renewal classes every week. Check our calendar for the most available dates.
We are officially in the Holiday season. This is the time to remember Situational Awareness. You want to be aware of your surroundings. You want to be aware of entrances and exits of the locations of where you will be going to. The most common places for crime to occur is at a Gas Station, Parking lot, or withing 50 feet of the front door of your home.These are the locations where are mind is most occupied on other things and not our surroundings. Remember, you want to win the gun fight that your were never in.
From our family to yours, Happy Holidays, Stay Safe!!
As of August 1, 2017, the State of Utah now charges $67.00 for a Non-Resident permit fee. The fee was $47.00. The extra $20.00 is for a mandatory fingerprint based background check. The Utah Concealed carry license is recognized in 30 states. Our next Utah Concealed carry class will be on September 2, 2017.
Illinois Concealed Carry licenses are currently recognized in 31 other states. When traveling you need to know the laws of the states that you are in. Ignorance of the law is no defense. We have found that www.handgunlaw.us is a great resource for determining which states you can carry your firearm in, along with the laws of the states that you travel to. We continue to offer classes on a weekly basis. Carry Safely!!
Michael Slevnik, our founder and Chief Instructor, will be on the Learning Channel on Sunday, April 23, 2017 at 9:00 pm Central Time. Michael has been a Private Detective for the past 25 years. The television show, This is Life Live, follows Michael along on an Investigation.
As of January 31,2017, there are currently 2,112,853 FOID Cards in the State of Illinois. There are currently 220,423 Concealed Carry licenses in Illinois.
Also, on February 1st, 2017, the Illinois State Police announced a change in their list of states eligible for an Illinois Concealed carry licenses. This list only includes Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas and Virginia. Residents of these states may apply for a Non-Resident Illinois Concealed Carry license.
We continue to offer Illinois Concealed Carry classes every week.
As of August 31, 2016 there are currently 197,860 Concealed carry licenses in the State of Illinois. There are 2,052,443 FOID cards in the State of Illinois. An Illinois resident must have a FOID card to possess ammunition and firearms. We continue to offer Illinois Concealed carry classes every week.
Virginia now recognizes Illinois Concealed carry licenses. Your Illinois Concealed carry license is now recognized in 29 states. There are over 179,000 Concealed carry licenses and over 2,016,000 FOID cards in the State of Illinois.
On Saturday the owner of the KayJay Gun shop in Amelia, Ohio was fatally shot when a student in a concealed carry class accidentally discharged a firearm in class while practicing malfunction drills. This incident was unfortunate and avoidable. One of the rules of the National Rifle Association is that no live ammunition is allowed in the classroom. If this rule is strictly enforced then there is no possibility that an accident can happen. While practicing drills in a class room or at your house you should use dummy rounds or snap caps.
The state of Texas now recognizes Illinois Concealed carry licenses. Visit www.handgunlaw.us for a list of Texas laws.
We continue to offer Illinois Concealed carry classes every week. Our classes our held at the Elks Lodge, 10720 S. Central, Chicago Ridge, and the Holiday Inn Express, 13330 S. Cicero, Crestwood.
Range qualification is done at Chuck's Gun Shop, 14310 S. Indiana, Riverdale.
Permit to Carry Reciprocity Minnesota Law Under Minnesota law, theby Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
Department of Public Safety (DPS) has been required since 2003 to
publish a list of states which have handgun carry permit laws that are
not substantially similar to Minnesota's permit-to-carry law. During the
2015 legislative session, a law was passed that changed the phrase
"substantially similar" to "similar". Minnesota permit-to-carry law is
M.S. 624.714. Subdivision 16 deals with "recognition of permits from
This is from the Illinois Rifle Association.
We appreciate the Governor's prompt action on SB 836. This bill takes effect immediately. The State Police will begin implementing SB 836 on Monday, July 13, 2015.
SB 836 contains the following changes:
Firearms Concealed Carry Act:
Limits the waiver of privacy rights regarding the concealed carry application to only those records pertinent to obtaining a concealed carry license.
Clarifies that if a concealed carry licensee presents their ICCL during a law enforcement investigative stop that it is presumed they are carrying a firearm.
Clarifies the definition of a "mental disability" as it pertains to persons seeking a concealed carry license.
Eliminates the requirement that a licensee unload his or her firearm when storing or retrieving a firearm from the trunk of their vehicle.
Provides that Emergency Service personnel may ask anyone lawfully carrying a firearm to secure the firearm for the duration of the contact.
Changes mental health reporting requirements.
Allows the use of a concealed carry license when purchasing firearms or ammunition.
Allows concealed carry licensees to possess firearms and ammunition without being in physical possession of their FOID card.
Changes the FOID Act to ensure that non-resident competitors may purchase firearms and ammunition at events held at the World Shooting Complex.
Eliminates a contradiction between Concealed Carry Act and the criminal definition of unlawful use of weapon.
Pass this alert on to all your friends and family.
Policeman is saved from more serious injury or possible death when a witness came to help! According to the report in News Channel 9 in Oklahoma,
According to a report, that's when a witness nearby charged up with his weapon drawn and told Jermaine he would shoot him if he did not stop hitting Eller. That heroic witness has not been identified.
It is very important for our citizens to have the ability to defend themselves and others.